Angebote zu "Recollections" (3 Treffer)

Someone: A Novel , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 471min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A fully realized portrait of one woman’s life in all its complexity, by the National Book Award-winning author. An ordinary life - its sharp pains and unexpected joys, its bursts of clarity and moments of confusion - lived by an ordinary woman: this is the subject of Someone, Alice McDermott’s extraordinary return, seven years after the publication of After This. Scattered recollections - of childhood, adolescence, motherhood, old age - come together in this transformative narrative, stitched into a vibrant whole by McDermott’s deft, lyrical voice. Our first glimpse of Marie is as a child: a girl in glasses waiting on a Brooklyn stoop for her beloved father to come home from work. A seemingly innocuous encounter with a young woman named Pegeen sets the bittersweet tone of this remarkable novel. Pegeen describes herself as an ´´amadan,” a fool; indeed, soon after her chat with Marie, Pegeen tumbles down her own basement stairs. The magic of McDermott’s novel lies in how it reveals us all as fools for this or that, in one way or another. Marie’s first heartbreak and her eventual marriage; her brother’s brief stint as a Catholic priest, subsequent loss of faith, and eventual breakdown; the Second World War; her parents’ deaths; the births and lives of Marie’s children; the changing world of her Irish-American enclave in Brooklyn - McDermott sketches all of it with sympathy and insight. Includes a bonus conversation between Alice McDermott and her editor, Jonathan Galassi. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Kate Reading. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/aren/001650/bk_aren_001650_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 25.04.2018
Zum Angebot
Animal Ghosts - Animal Hauntings and The Hereafter
2,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In opening this volume on Animals and their associations with the unknown, I will commence with a case of hauntings in the Old Manor House, at Oxenby. My informant was a Mrs. Hartnoll, whom I can see in my minds eye, as distinctly as if I were looking at her now. Hers was a personality that no lapse of time, nothing could efface; a personality that made itself felt on boys of all temperaments, most of all, of course, on those who-like myself-were highly strung and sensitive. She was classical mistress at L.s, the then well-known dame school in Clifton, where for three years-prior to migrating to a Public School-I was well grounded in all the mysticisms of Kennedys Latin Primer and Smiths First Greek Principia. I doubt if she got anything more than a very small salary-governesses in those days were shockingly remunerated-and I know,-poor soul, she had to work monstrously hard. Drumming Latin and Greek into heads as thick as ours was no easy task. But there were times, when the excessive tension on the nerves proving too much, Mrs. Hartnoll stole a little relaxation; when she allowed herself to chat with us, and even to smile-Heavens! those smiles! And when-I can feel the tingling of my pulses at the bare mention of it-she spoke about herself, stated she had once been young-a declaration so astounding, so utterly beyond our comprehension, that we were rendered quite speechless-and told us anecdotes. Of many of her narratives I have no recollection, but one or two, which interested me more than the rest, are almost as fresh in my mind as when recounted. The one that appealed to me most, and which I have every reason to believe is absolutely true,[1] is as follows:-I give it as nearly as I can in her own somewhat stilted style:- Up to the age of nineteen, I resided with my parents in the Manor House, Oxenby. It was an old building, dating back, I believe, to the reign of Edward VI, and had originally served as the residence of noble families. Built, or, rather, faced with split flints, and edged and buttressed with cut grey stone, it had a majestic though very gloomy appearance, and seen from afar resembled nothing so much as a huge and grotesquely decorated sarcophagus. In the centre of its frowning and menacing front was the device of a cat, constructed out of black shingles, and having white shingles for the eyes; the effect being curiously realistic, especially on moonlight nights, when anything more lifelike and sinister could scarcely have been conceived. The artist, whoever he was, had a more than human knowledge of cats-he portrayed not merely their bodies but their souls.

Anbieter: ciando eBooks
Stand: 23.01.2018
Zum Angebot
Witchs Street - Girl Online
2,44 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A page-turning debut written in the tradition of R.L. Stines Fear Street, Goosebumps or Haunting Hour. In the town of Riverville, there is a street. It was a street where they used to hang witches. It is a street where students from school are known to have vanished without a trace, even till today. It is a street where strange things happen to people. It is called Fox Street. But kids at school call it by another name. The Witchs Street. Chris had just moved in with his mom, into Fox Street a.k.a. The Witchs Street. One evening he wakes up in his bedroom, realizing that he had been chatting with a girl online, one he had never met before.He had no recollection of how he had ended up chatting with her. And in school, the kids tease him, saying that his house is haunted. Strange things start happening to Chris and he is getting to the bottom of it. Before its too late. Free Chapter- Chris yawned. He was talking to strangers from all over the world. None interested him. Chris closed his eyelids for a while but when he opened them again, he was shocked. I must have fallen asleep!!!! Chris looking at the time. It was half-past-one in the morning. Chris stared at his screen, surprisingly. It was widescreen. He saw his only chat room nick and a second nick. Was I talking to someone??? Chris was puzzled. He didnt remember talking to someone. He stared at the screen again. From what he could see, it seemed that he and this other individual had been chatting. In private. Red Rose says: What a coincidence. You live in Riverville too. Too bad I dont go to Riverville High Walking Zombie says: Yeah too bad. Hey how about we meet up! Walking Zombie was Chriss nick. Chris read on. Red Rose says: When and where? Their last conversation ended about ten minutes ago. I hope she is still online!!!!, Chris thought. Ever since he moved to Riverville, he hadnt made much friends as he didnt really click it with anyone. He was also pretty sure that he was talking to a she, as what male would ever call himself a rose. Chris typed again to the screen. Walking Zombie says: Are you still there? He hoped she was still online. He wanted someone to really hang out with. After a minute, he had a reply. Red Rose says: Yes Im still here. Afraid that I chased you off Chris smiled, typing more words online. Walking Zombie says: No you didnt. I had to go downstairs for a while to see if someone was out there. Turned out to be no one He then saw her response. Red Rose says: So you wanna meet up tomorrow? He smiled, typing more words. Walking Zombie says: Yes sure. Where and when? He waited with uncontrolled excitement until she responded. Red Rose says: How about Riverville Mall. At the top floor. In front of that empty shop thats being renovated. Lets say four in the afternoon. Chris smiled. He may not remembered how he ended up chatting with this girl but he was glad that he did, although he didnt even expect that something like this would happen.

Anbieter: ciando eBooks
Stand: 09.04.2018
Zum Angebot