Angebote zu "Recollections" (5 Treffer)

Personal Recollections Of Chat
9,50 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Personal Recollections Of Chat

Anbieter: buch.de
Stand: 07.05.2017
Zum Angebot
Personal Recollections Of Chat
9,50 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Personal Recollections Of Chat

Anbieter: Bol.de
Stand: 18.02.2017
Zum Angebot
Someone: A Novel , Hörbuch, Digital, ungekürzt,...
9,95 €
Angebot
0,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A fully realized portrait of one woman’s life in all its complexity, by the National Book Award-winning author. An ordinary life - its sharp pains and unexpected joys, its bursts of clarity and moments of confusion - lived by an ordinary woman: this is the subject of Someone, Alice McDermott’s extraordinary return, seven years after the publication of After This. Scattered recollections - of childhood, adolescence, motherhood, old age - come together in this transformative narrative, stitched into a vibrant whole by McDermott’s deft, lyrical voice. Our first glimpse of Marie is as a child: a girl in glasses waiting on a Brooklyn stoop for her beloved father to come home from work. A seemingly innocuous encounter with a young woman named Pegeen sets the bittersweet tone of this remarkable novel. Pegeen describes herself as an ´´amadan,” a fool; indeed, soon after her chat with Marie, Pegeen tumbles down her own basement stairs. The magic of McDermott’s novel lies in how it reveals us all as fools for this or that, in one way or another. Marie’s first heartbreak and her eventual marriage; her brother’s brief stint as a Catholic priest, subsequent loss of faith, and eventual breakdown; the Second World War; her parents’ deaths; the births and lives of Marie’s children; the changing world of her Irish-American enclave in Brooklyn - McDermott sketches all of it with sympathy and insight. Includes a bonus conversation between Alice McDermott and her editor, Jonathan Galassi. ungekürzt. Language: English. Narrator: Kate Reading. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/aren/001650de/bk_rhde_002536_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible - Hörbücher
Stand: 12.04.2017
Zum Angebot
Then and Always
13,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

For fans of One Day, What Alice Forgot, and the hit film Sliding Doors, comes an absorbing and surprising debut novel about a young woman who, after an accident, gets a second chance at life . . . just not in one she remembers. Rachel Wiltshire has everything she´s ever wanted: a close group of friends, a handsome boyfriend, and acceptance to the journalism program at her top-choice college. But one fateful evening, tragedy tears her world apart. Five years later, Rachel returns home for the first time to celebrate her best friend´s wedding. Still coping with her grief, she can´t stop thinking about the bright future she almost had, if only that one night had gone differently. But when a sudden fall lands her in the hospital, Rachel wakes to find that her life has completely changed. Now the people she loves most are not the way she remembers them. Unable to trust her own recollections, Rachel tries to piece together what really happened, and not even she can predict the astonishing truth. Praise for Then and Always ´´Readers who enjoyed Liane Moriarty´s What Alice Forgot and Sophie Kinsella´s Remember Me? will like [Then and Always].´´-Booklist ´´Clear your schedule for an addicting read. Then and Always is a twisty, romantic, keep-you-guessing story about the kind of love you never forget.´´-National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti, author of He´s Gone ´´Heartfelt, gorgeous and completely believable . . . Atkins´ latest novel unfolds beautifully and will touch readers deeply.´´-RT Book Reviews Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader´s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Anbieter: Bol.de
Stand: 09.06.2017
Zum Angebot
Then and Always
13,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

For fans of One Day, What Alice Forgot, and the hit film Sliding Doors, comes an absorbing and surprising debut novel about a young woman who, after an accident, gets a second chance at life . . . just not in one she remembers. Rachel Wiltshire has everything she´s ever wanted: a close group of friends, a handsome boyfriend, and acceptance to the journalism program at her top-choice college. But one fateful evening, tragedy tears her world apart. Five years later, Rachel returns home for the first time to celebrate her best friend´s wedding. Still coping with her grief, she can´t stop thinking about the bright future she almost had, if only that one night had gone differently. But when a sudden fall lands her in the hospital, Rachel wakes to find that her life has completely changed. Now the people she loves most are not the way she remembers them. Unable to trust her own recollections, Rachel tries to piece together what really happened, and not even she can predict the astonishing truth. Praise for Then and Always ´´Readers who enjoyed Liane Moriarty´s What Alice Forgot and Sophie Kinsella´s Remember Me? will like [Then and Always].´´-Booklist ´´Clear your schedule for an addicting read. Then and Always is a twisty, romantic, keep-you-guessing story about the kind of love you never forget.´´-National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti, author of He´s Gone ´´Heartfelt, gorgeous and completely believable . . . Atkins´ latest novel unfolds beautifully and will touch readers deeply.´´-RT Book Reviews Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader´s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Anbieter: buch.de
Stand: 09.06.2017
Zum Angebot